The First One

This is the third or fourth blog I have started over the last few years. I’ve never been good at keeping up with my projects. And to date, I have never finished a project either.

The introduction post is always the worst. I suppose I’ll start with a little bit about myself. I’m in my early twenties and I am about to complete my final year at university, where I have spent almost three years pursuing a very demanding and difficult degree, that I do not give a single shit about. I went to university to get out of my hometown, I saw it as a launch-pad into the real world. In a way, it’s done what I expected of it. I am independent, I have had experiences I never would have had if I’d stayed at home, I’ve met wonderful people, I’ve met awful people. And I’ve learned a lot about myself, although I still feel as though I’m barely scratching the surface.

I am a creative. I love to read and to write, to make things with my hands, express myself through art, literature and music. But I am lazy. I find my motivation is always fleeting, and when it arrives, it arrives at the worst of times. I’ll have writers block for 6 months, then a fantastic idea will keep me awake all night before an exam or a 12 hour shift. Come morning, or the day after when I have time to write, the idea is dead.

I am obsessed with identity. More specifically, who am I? I want to know myself, but I have not finished becoming myself. I am always changing, and this is difficult for someone so taken with the idea of defining characteristics that can tell you who a person is. Names, heritage, fears, passions. I love exploring all of these elements that make up a person.

I’m also very interested in philosophy, I like to wonder.

I’m not sure where this blog is going really. I’m going to post about my experiences, how I feel, what I learn. I think it will be good for me to talk about some of the thousands of thoughts tearing through my head. It feels like there is a hurricane in my skull. Let’s get some of it out.
– Quiet Waters

4 thoughts on “The First One

  1. I’m on my fourth blog after three failed attempts with o content. Now, I’ve been blogging 8 months or so and I’m really happy with the progess I’m making. I write book reviews, film reviews, and other book-blog bits (I love literature too and I’m definitely creative). Welcome to blogging! I didn’t really do a proper introduction post when I started; I just got straight on with it! 🙂
    https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

