In Defence of Millennials

Note: I was wondering whether or not I should start editing or proof-reading my posts. Then I realised I would only be doing so to ensure I came across as intelligent and coherent as possible. Honestly, thats not that important to me here. What you guys are reading here has just flowed from my brain at 1am after I worked a busy 10 hour shift, then came home and wrote a 3,000 word essay. If it’s a mess, it’s a mess. 




We are not a perfect generation, but neither was the one before us, or the one before them… or the one before them.

It is only since I decided to write this post that I have realised how many articles there are out there with the same title. It is however, most fitting. I think it is important to note, if you don’t already know, I am a millennial myself. Of course I’m going to defend my generation. But, just hear me out.

Millennials are often described by our elders as lazy and entitled, the phrase ‘special snowflake’ is used a lot. It makes me want to throw up. I’ve seen a lot of articles, interviews and discussions complaining about us, and our spoiled ways. Some have even suggested it’s the fault of our parents, coddling us, teaching us that we can do whatever we want and we are winners, even when we’re not. It’s made me wonder if these people throwing all these accusations around have ever spent much time with millennials. I have. I am in the presence of at least one millennial 24/7. And I really don’t know what these guys are talking about. Myself and those I associate with were never brought up like that. We were brought up to be considerate, forward-thinking individuals, with a sense of pride and respect for ourselves and others. We were taught from day one to work hard, to push ourselves. We were told that life isn’t fair and you can’t always get what you want. Any complaint was met with a reminder that there were thousands of people worse off who would do anything to be in our position. I’ve been working since I was 12, I worked part time throughout highschool, college and now I’m working full time while completing my degree. I expect nothing from others. Almost everybody I know is the same. Now, I understand that there are probably many lazy and entitled millennials, I specifically choose not to hang around with losers so it makes sense everyone I know is a badass go-getter. However people that are lazy and entitled are not so because they are millennials, they’re like this because that’s who they are and that’s who they were brought up to be. It has nothing to do with the fact that they are millennials. There are shitty people in every generation. Equally, each generation complains about the younger, obviously.

Millennials work hard for very little. Our employers ask for so much, they want our jobs to be our entire lives. Regular 9am staff meetings on Sundays, early starts, late finishes, 12+ hour shifts have become a norm, if you have 2 days off, they won’t be consecutive and it’s more than likely that you’ll get a call asking you to come in anyway. At least, that’s been my experience in the 7 different jobs that I’ve had over the years. My life has barely begun, I haven’t even finished education yet and I have spent my days studying and working. As a kid my parents encouraged me to work to learn new skills, develop a good work ethic, gain some independence, and begin building experience. Everyone wants experience. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I’m glad I begun working at such a young age, I can’t imagine trying to get a job now with no experience and no idea what it is like to work. But it really does aggravate me when I hear my people being described as lazy, as not wanting to work. Fuck off. I wish I didn’t have to work now, especially in my last year of university, trying to write a really heavy dissertation while working full time is not good for my mental or physical health. But my student loan isn’t enough to live off, I’m trying to save money as well, so I don’t finish university with a degree and a maxed out overdraft. The £45,000 debt I’m heading towards once I graduate is enough for me. It would at least be nice to have enough money for a weekly food shop. I’m sorry, this isn’t supposed to be a rant about money. Maybe my next blog post will be on the cost of living in London. What I’m getting at is, we work a lot just to get by. 

More than this, everyone I know is suffering immensely. We are struggling through life on the bare minimum, battling various mental and physical ailments that really should be debilitating. There is no room for the weak in this world, so we carry on. Everyone I know is passionate and involved in politics and the environment. We are switched on. We see where this world is heading, hell, we’re not happy about where it is at now. We want to make a change for the better, the majority of us seem to be on the same page but much of the resistance we’re met with comes from the older generations. Dare I bring up, Trump and his supporters? I won’t elaborate, but you know what I’m saying. We’re living in a broken world, we’re just trying to do the best with what we have and to try and heal things for our own kids. I don’t even want to bring children into this world we’re living in right now! Again, perhaps a topic worthy of an entire post of its own.

What I’m saying is, just stop your bitching. We are good, hardworking, intelligent people. We are doing what we can with what YOU have given us. There are a lot of real problems in the world, and millennials are not one of them.
– Quiet Waters

Leave a Reply

